Vit’LCA, Winegrowing ecodesign software & Vitigame®

GROUPE ESA et INRAE

This file contains 2 innovations: on the one hand, a wine ecodesign software called Vit’LCA, and on the other hand a Serious Game called Vitigame®, which were gathered in a single file following the decision of the competition jury.

Vit’LCA is the first online software for calculating the environmental impacts of viticulture-specific practices using the Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) method. LCA quantifies the gains obtained in terms of environmental footprint in most environmental compartments. In winegrowing, it factors in the contributions of all the inputs and materials used throughout their life cycle and the substances emitted into the environment. Users can thus easily identify and compare the eco-efficiency of winegrowing practices or technical itineraries from their field data, and assess the advantages of improvement solutions. The results shed light on a large number of environmental criteria, like the contribution to global warming and ecotoxicity for aquatic organisms. Vit’LCA makes this complex, powerful and comprehensive method available to advisors, teachers, students and winegrowing practitioners in the field. As the user chooses, it takes into account the planting phase, the first years of the vineyard, the production phase, and the end of the vine’s life. A single scenario is assessed to understand the causes of impacts, or several scenarios are compared to identify and evaluate ways to improve.
In interaction with the field, Vit’LCA was developed by LCA and winegrowing researchers from the USC GRAPPE research unit (ESA-INRAE) at the Ecole Supérieure des Agricultures in Angers, France and the University of Queensland in Brisbane, Australia, with support from the Loire Region’s agri-food innovation programme (RFI Food for Tomorrow – CapAliment). A maturation programme carried by SATT Ouest Valorisation is working on its transition from Excel to an online platform, to make it more accessible to users.

 

The serious game Vitigame is designed to make players aware of the environmental impacts of vineyard management and develop their skills in eco-design.

It was developed by the Grappe research unit (unit under contract in Agri-food Products and Processes) of the ESA (higher school of agriculture) in Angers, in association with INRAE, with kind support from the Chambre d’Agriculture des Pays de la Loire, the Robert et Marcel winery and the Montreuil Bellay winegrowing school. Its development was financially supported by ADEME, RFI Objectif Végétal and the ESA.

It can be played by groups of winegrowers or viticulture students, with four to eight players, supervised by a game master.
The aim of the game is to improve the environmental performance of one of the viticultural cases proposed in the game.
The players choose an improvement strategy and then build an optimised technical itinerary according to weather forecasts, phytosanitary pressure and the information provided in the booklets.

The resulting environmental impacts are calculated during or after the game with the Vit’LCA viticulture life cycle assessment software.

Life Cycle Assessment, or LCA, is a method that quantifies the gains obtained in terms of environmental footprint in most environmental compartments. In winegrowing, it factors in the contributions of all inputs and materials used throughout their life cycle and the substances emitted into the environment.

The game is preceded by an introduction to LCA for grape production, and after it ends a discussion is held on the choices made and their effects.

The game box will be available from December 2022.

A one-day training course will then be offered for the game masters.

Sectors :
Category : Services, software
2023 SIVAL Bronze medal winner

Company details

Company name: GROUPE ESA et INRAE

Address: 55 rue Rabelais - B.P.B 30748 -
49007 ANGERS Cedex 01

Tel : 02 41 23 55 55

Website : http://www.groupe-esa.com

Vit’LCA, logiciel d’écoconception viticole & Vitigame®

GROUPE ESA et INRAE

Ce dossier contient 2 innovations : d’une part, un logiciel d’écoconception viticole nommé Vit’LCA, et d’autre part un Serious Game nommé Vitigame®, qui ont été rassemblées en un seul dossier suite à la décision du jury du concours.

 

Vit’LCA est le premier logiciel en ligne de calcul des impacts environnementaux des pratiques spécifique à la viticulture mobilisant la méthode de l’Analyse du cycle de Vie (ACV, et LCA en anglais). L’ACV est une méthode qui quantifie les gains obtenus en termes d’empreinte environnementale sur la majorité des compartiments de l’environnement. En viticulture, elle prend en compte les contributions de tous les intrants et matériels utilisés tout au long de leur cycle de vie et des substances émises vers l’environnement. Les utilisateurs peuvent ainsi, à partir de leurs données de terrain, identifier et comparer facilement l’éco-efficience des pratiques viticoles, ou d’itinéraires techniques, et évaluer l’intérêt de solutions d’amélioration. Les résultats éclairent sur un grand nombre de critères environnementaux comme par exemple la contribution au réchauffement climatique ou l’écotoxicité envers les organismes aquatiques. Vit’LCA met cette méthode complexe, puissante et très complète qu’est l’ACV à la portée des conseillers, enseignants, étudiants et praticiens viticoles du terrain. Il prend en compte, au choix de l’utilisateur, les phases de plantation, premières années du vignoble, phase de production, et fin de vie de la vigne. On y évalue un seul scénario pour comprendre les causes des impacts ou on y compare plusieurs scénarios pour identifier les voies d’améliorations et les évaluer.
Vit’LCA a été développé, en interaction avec le terrain, par des chercheurs en ACV et en viticulture de l’Unité de recherche USC GRAPPE (ESA-INRAE) à l’Ecole Supérieure des Agricultures d’Angers en France et de l’Université du Queensland à Brisbane en Australie, avec le soutien du programme d’innovation agroalimentaire de la Région Loire (RFI Food for Tomorrow – CapAliment). Il fait l’objet d’un programme de maturation de la SATT Ouest valorisation pour son passage d’Excel à une plateforme en ligne pour une plus grande accessibilité aux usagers.

 

Le jeu sérieux Vitigame vise à sensibiliser les joueurs aux impacts environnementaux de la gestion des vignobles et à développer leurs compétences en écoconception.

Il est développé par l’Unité de recherches Grappe (USC en Agroalimentaire sur les Produits et les Procédés) de l’ESA d’Angers associée à l’INRAE, avec l’aimable concours de la Chambre d’Agriculture des Pays de la Loire, la cave Robert et Marcel et le lycée viticole de Montreuil Bellay. Son développement a bénéficié du soutien financier de l’ADEME, du RFI Objectif végétal et de l’ESA.

Il peut être joué par des groupes de viticulteurs ou d’étudiants en viticulture, de quatre à huit joueurs, sous la direction d’un maître de jeu.
Le but du jeu est d’améliorer la performance environnementale d’un cas viticole parmi ceux disponibles dans le jeu.
Les joueurs choisissent une stratégie d’amélioration puis construisent un itinéraire technique optimisé en fonction des prévisions météorologiques, de la pression phytosanitaire et des informations fournies dans les livrets.

Les impacts environnementaux qui en découlent sont calculés pendant ou après le jeu avec le logiciel d’Analyse du Cycle de Vie pour la viticulture Vit’LCA

L’analyse du cycle de vie, ou ACV, est une méthode qui quantifie les gains obtenus en termes d’empreinte environnementale sur la majorité des compartiments de l’environnement. En viticulture, elle prend en compte les contributions de tous les intrants et matériels utilisés tout au long de leur cycle de vie et des substances émises vers l’environnement.

Précédé d’une introduction à l’ACV pour la production de raisins, le jeu est suivi d’un échange sur les choix faits et leurs effets.

La boite de jeu sera disponible dès décembre 2022.

Une formation d’une journée sera alors proposée pour les maîtres de jeu.

Filières :
Catégorie : Services et Logiciels
SIVAL de bronze 2023

Coordonnées de l'entreprise

Raison sociale : GROUPE ESA et INRAE

Adresse : 55 rue Rabelais - B.P.B 30748 -
49007 ANGERS Cedex 01

Téléphone : 02 41 23 55 55

Site Web : http://www.groupe-esa.com